Skip to content

Drinkmuse: Final Notes from Westminster Wine Festival

October 10, 2011

As promised, here are some brief notes from the rest of the wineries that I tried at the Westminster Wine Festival (Carrol County Wine Festival?).

Basignani Winery – This was another I was generally impressed with. Their whites didn’t do much for me, but at least one of them would make a great bottle for easy drinking nights. Their reds were nice, however. I was impressed with the Piccolo, which they call their Cab’s baby brother. Very tasty, on my list to try and maybe get a bottle of. Their “Erik’s Big Zin” was nice, and surprisingly liked by some others in the group that I didn’t think would. Their Cab Sauv itself was also tasty. In terms of the sweet wines, their Marisa Dolce was nice in a sweet red style, and their Monkton Moon was a hit with the entire group. Had some of that this past weekend, and it was still nice – perhaps a bit too sweet for me, but still tasty. Well worth the $15.25.

Cassinelli Winery and Vineyards – I have notes on two of their wines… which are not backed up by their website. I don’t really know why that is, so I will refrain from posting notes until I get a chance to try the wines again.

Dove Valley Vineyards and Winery – Similar to Cassinelli, their website doesn’t match what they let us taste. However – the Sunset was very nice, and the Mr. Bentley was a liked by the entire group. Sweet styles all of them, but good considering. Nothing that was hitting my urge for red that much.

Far Eastern Shore Winery – I was very impressed with what I had across the board, but didn’t get many notes. I am looking forward to trying further.

Fiore Winery and Distillery – High Heel Slipper was the hit with the group – several bottles were bought. Sangiovese was nice for me – very smoky, nice layers.

Galloping Goose Vineyards – Big point with these guys was that they had a very pleasant Claret, which was one of the only ones I had that day that was tasty.

St. Michaels Winery – They had a Chocolate Zin which was liked by most of the group. Another to try later on with a less beat upon palate.

Very brief notes, but that’s all I had left written up. Definitely a fun day, lots of things to look into further.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeremy permalink
    October 11, 2011 8:49 am

    Um, that’s actually the official Maryland State Wine Festival.

  2. October 12, 2011 10:54 am

    sounds like fun and tasty!

Leave a Reply

