Skip to content

Drinkmuse: Iniquity – Southern Tier

October 4, 2011

I haven’t had many Southern Tier beers, so I’ve wanted to try any I could get my hands on. I’m a big fan of black IPAs and black ales, so this one was perfect – Iniquity is listed as “Imperial black ale” or “Imperial iniquity black ale”. 9.0% alcohol.

Initial looks: Virtually no head, very smooth pour, very dark – not quite black, but close.

Nose: I don’t have much of a sense of a smell today, so all I’m getting are very light hops, of the citrus variety.

First taste: Def black IPA feel. Hops and malt are well balanced. Have to say that initially, the malt is underwhelming, and I am getting off tastes towards the back of my mouth. On first sip its great, but as it goes down, its almost sours, in a negative sense. I don’t feel the alcohol at all – very well masked for being so high. Hops are listed as Chinook, Cascade, Willamette and Centennial. I don’t have a lot of experience with Willamette, but I can taste the Cascade.

Switching Glass: Bottle says to serve in a tulip glass. I’m a firm believer that glassware does affect taste, so I switched over to see how things are going. Nose blows up in this glass. Definitely get the Cascade now, and I think I am getting the Centennial as well on the nose.  Sadly, I am not getting that much better of a backend taste. This is where I wish I had done a beer judge class so I could identify issues with beers. Also of note – I get a bit of head on this in this glass.

After being warmed up: About the same. It feels very much like “promise unfilled” – a very nice nose, a nice initial taste, and then something off that I can’t handle.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 10:58 am

    Love Southern Tier, when we can get it we usually stock it, saw their summer ale in Giant oddly, but if you go to Rick’s Gourmet in Alexandria they usually have more varieties there. You should check out Ellicotville too, very cool Upstate NY town.

Leave a Reply

